Local News

RCACF Awards $311,110 in Local Scholarships

Russell County Area Community Foundation LogoThis year the Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) is pleased to announce $311,110 in scholarships awarded through the Foundation to area students.

Every year, the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF is pleased to manage 11 scholarship funds.

These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $425 scholarships are Megan Peeler and Rhett Pospichal.

The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Ashlynn Hobbs received a $1,000 scholarship. Kenneth Butler and Hunter Reddig received $500 scholarships.

The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Robert Jensen received a renewable $2,500 scholarship. Darian Klee received a $2,500 scholarship.

The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Josalyn Ulrich received a $625 scholarship.

The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Jordynn Guenot and Janae Schulte received $700 scholarships.

The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Jordynn Guenot, Kyleigh Kasper and Chandler Kitchen received $10,000 scholarships. Forty-eight students received $5,000 scholarships, including Katherine Barney, Madison Beagley, Ryan Birky, Taelyr Blehm, Seth Boxberger, Isabella Boxberger, Matthew Buhrle, Alexia Charbonneau, Maci Clark, Tandy Coleman, Abigail Cross, Koby Decker, Julia Finger, Alaina Gfeller, Tayla Goodenough, Kaylee Hoss, Robert Jensen, Cameron Kilian, Darian Klee, Katherine Krauss, Samantha Leiker, Grace Lumpkins, Nick Miller, Lauren Myers, Caleb Newacheck, Shelby Ney, Brooks Nichols, Micah Nuss, Whitney Nuss, Samuel Ochs, Travis Ochs, Layn Pasek, Megan Peeler, Delainey Pospichal, Rhett Pospichal, Alexandria Ptacek, Samantha Ptacek, Lillian Rageth, Chandler Reich, Kaiden Schneider, Jacob Sohm, Skylar Steinle, MacKenzie Thomas, Veronica Torres, Sarah Vonfeldt, Jacquelyn Wagner, Ryleigh Wagner and Chase Woelk. Thirteen students received $2,000 scholarships, including Jayden Braun, Brendon Buhrle, Liberty Decker, Tiffany Dortland, Kayla Farmer, Kyler Fritschen, Logan Gilmore, Maria Hilger, Braden Kasper, Caleb Nuss, Caden Pfeifer, Janae Schulte and Alexia Windholz.

The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. Autumn Princ received a $500 scholarship.

The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Kyleigh Dick and Braden Flax received $500 scholarhips. Kaden Baalman received a $450 scholarship.

The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Recipients of $500 scholarships are William Fontanez and Grace Lumpkins.

The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Peyton Ostmeyer received a $1,685 scholarship.

The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture. William Fontanez received a $600 scholarship.

For more information, please call Angela Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit www.rcacf.net.

(Information courtesy RCACF.)

Read More Local News
Broncos on KRSL
Russell, KS weather