Local News

Local FFA Members Earn Scholarships

FFAThe National FFA Foundation awarded $137,000 in scholarships to members across the state of Kansas.

Members were recognized for their scholarship awards during the third session of the 85th Kansas FFA Convention on May 30.

The National Foundation offers approximately $2 million, generously donated by numerous sponsors, to FFA member across the nation every year. The awards range from $1,000 to $5,000 for to assist with their education at a two-year or four-year institution.

This years local recipients include Russell's Lane Mai and Wilson's Emily Beneda.

Local FFA members were also among the 83 Kansas students awarded $1,000 Ford Trucks/Built Ford Tough scholarships during the third session of the 85th annual Kansas FFA State Convention.

The Built Ford Tough FFA Scholarship Program recognizes FFA members' talents and accomplishments while encouraging their future academic achievements.

"We're proud to recognize these student leaders for their growth in the FFA and passion for the agriculture industry," said Justin Haun, Kansas FFA Association reporter. "We thank Ford Trucks/Built Ford Tough for providing financial support for our students' educational goals."

This year's local recipient was Russell's Kayla DeWald.

In addition, the Kansas Crop Improvement Association awarded two $500 scholarships to FFA members from the Paola and Wilson FFA chapters at the Convention.

Winners of this scholarship must hold their American of State FFA Degree and must demonstrate that grain production is a major component of their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) program. They also must submit a resume illustrating their involvement, interest and importance of the grain industry.

"Our scholarship recipients have submitted outstanding applications and have grown their passion for the FFA," said Justin Haun, Kansas FFA Association reporter. "We thank Eric Fabrizius and the Kansas Crop Improvement Association for providing support for our outstanding students to pursue their career goals."

This year's recipients are Sam Knauss from the Paola FFA Chapter and Andrea Mattas of the Wilson FFA Chapter.

Read More Local News
Broncos on KRSL
Russell, KS weather