Local News

Russell Co. Conservation District Winners Announced

Soil Conservation 2The Russell County Conservation District announced its Banker's Award and Poster Winners during its annual meeting on Monday, Feb. 10 in Russell.

The Soil and Water Conservation Award went to Steve and Raeleen Reinhardt from Russell. The Windbreak Award went to Kent and Pam Truan from Gorham. The Wildlife Award went to Herb and Sheryl Reid from Fairfax, Virginia.

Brittan Fritschen from Bickerdyke Elementary School in Russell earned a state poster honorable mention award.

The local poster winners included:


  • 1st Place - Braden Nelson (Wilson Elementary)
  • 2nd Place - Zack Thorne (Wilson Elementary)
  • 3rd Place - Sam Thielen (Wilson Elementary)

2nd Grade

  • 1st Place - Brygette Ross (Bickerdyke Elementary)
  • 2nd Place - Chloe Leiker (Bickerdyke Elementary)
  • 3rd Place - Susie Gilbert (Bickerdyke Elementary)

3rd Grade

  • 1st Place - Lauren Franks (Bickerdyke Elementary)
  • 2nd Place - Brayden Strobel (Bickerdyke Elementary)
  • 3rd Place - Jacob Ney (Bickerdyke Elementary)

4th Grade

  • 1st Place - Shayla Smith (Wilson Elementary)
  • 2nd Place - Jesse Whitmer (Wilson Elementary)
  • 3rd Place - DeWayne Woodmansee (Wilson Elementary)

5th Grade

  • 1st Place - Donavan Lyne (Wilson Elementary)
  • 2nd Place - Garrett Thielen (Wilson Elementary)
  • 3rd Place - Kami Thrasher (Wilson Elementary) 
Read More Local News
KU on KRSL 95.9
Russell, KS weather
First Southern Baptist Church Celebrate Recovery