Local News

Area Students Win Hansen Scholarships

hansen museumThe Dane G. Hansen Foundation of Logan has named 260 high school seniors from 59 Northwest Kansas schools, including 12 students from the area, as winners in its 39th annual scholarship competition.

In selecting award winners, the Scholarship Committee considered proficiency in verbal and writing skills. Other important factors are academic records, test scores and community service in which the student may have participated.

Fifty Hansen Scholar winners were selected. The stipend of $4000 was granted for one year and may be renewed for one additional year under the same general conditions as set forth in the Leader of Tomorrow Scholarship. This year's area winners include Gage Nichols and Isaiah Stierlen of Russell.

One hundred Hansen Student winners were selected. These awards are for $3000 and may be renewed for one additional year provided the student has maintained a satisfactory academic record. This year's area winners are Michaela Merchant of Sylvan-Lucas, Tatum Pfortmiller of Natoma, and Christopher Hilger and Janna Schulte of Russell.

For students interested in a Career and Technical Education scholarship, the Foundation offered one hundred awards of $2000 each. Winners of Career and Technical Education scholarships are Chandra Augustine of Victoria, Janell Ptacek of Wilson, Trai Heenan of Sylvan-Lucas, and Riley Chrisler, Cathryn Cotterill and Kylie Engling of Natoma.

Read More Local News
Broncos on KRSL
Russell, KS weather
First Southern Baptist Church Celebrate Recovery