Tuesday Basketball Lineup

KRSL 990 AM / 98.1 FM
Russell at Smith Center
Gametimes - 6pm / 7:45pm

Local News

2018 SHPTV Writers Contest Winners Announced

PBS KIDS Writers ContestSmoky Hills Public Television has announced the winners of the 2018 SHPTV PBS Kids Writers Contest.

SHPTV received 154 entries, submitted from January through March, from 18 communities across Kansas. Children in kindergarten through third grade were eligible to enter stories.

"We again received fantastic stories from children around the state and continue to believe in the positive educational impact of this contest," said Callie Kolacny, SHPTV marketing director. "We thank the parents and teachers who encouraged their kids to submit stories and are thrilled that this program continues to grow."

Each story was judged twice with three places awarded in each grade level. The children whose stories placed receive a prize pack and a trophy. The stories can be read at smokyhillstv.org.

2018 Writers Contest Winners:


  • 1st – Asher Van Patten, Almena - "The Robot Family"
  • 2nd – Austin Rothenberger, Osborne - "The Tornado Man"
  • 3rd – Stormy Guttery, Osborne - "The Storm Came"

1st Grade

  • 1st – Malachi Miller, Gorham - "Calfie in the City"
  • 2nd – Kimber Barfield, Osborne - "Superstar Girl Meets Evil Agent Otter"
  • 3rd – Libbie Carlin, Osborne - "Fairyland"

2nd Grade

  • 1st – Lauren Smith, Hays - "Annie's First Job"
  • 2nd – Kenadee Schmidt, Sterling - "Imagination Girl and Builder Girl"
  • 3rd – Ethan Schulte, Victoria - "A Scientist's Discovery"

3rd Grade

  • 1st – Norah Ellenz, Tipton - "Great Grandpa"
  • 2nd – Janessa Miller, Gorham - "The Gymnast Who Never Gave Up"
  • 3rd – Emma Miller, Lakin - "Two Big Wishes"

(Information courtesy SHPTV.)

Read More Local News
Morning Show Banner
Russell, KS weather