Filing Deadline for Fall 2023 City, School Election in Russell County is June 1


The filing deadline for the fall 2023 city and school election in Russell County is June 1.

Call or stop by the Russell County Clerk's Office at the Russell County Courthouse to find out more information on filing requirements and fees.

County positions that are open for the upcoming 2023 election include Midway Extension District two positions at-large and Hospital Board positions four and five.

City positions include Russell wards one, two, three and four and mayor, Lucas two at-large positions and mayor, Bunker Hill positions one through five at-large and mayor, Dorrance positions three, four and five at-large, Gorham positions three, four and five at-large, Luray positions four and five at-large and mayor, Paradise positions one through five at-large and mayor, and Waldo positions one through five at-large and mayor.

School district positions include USD 407 positions one, two, three and seven, USD 399 positions one, two, three and seven, and USD 112 and USD 299 positions certified to Russell County.

As of May 26, incumbent Russell Mayor Jim Cross and incumbent Ward Four Russell City Councilmember Dustin Madden have filed for re-election. Luke Brandenburg has filed for election in Ward One. Russell City Councilmembers Monty Morrill, Blaine Stoppel and Lonnie Whitten are also up for election this year but have not filed.

Russell County USD 407 Boardmembers Kathy Wallert, Brett Mai, Ron Wedel and Deanna Myers are up for election this year. Mai and Myers have filed for re-election.

Alvan Baral has filed for Bunker Hill Mayor and Jeremy Nestler, Brian Pertl, Larry Philbern, Logan Langhofer and Amy Driscoll have filed for Bunker Hill City Council.

Steve Heaton and Bev Schindler-Wooley have filed for Dorrance City Council.

Susan Unrein, Justin Weigel and Lance Murphy have filed for Gorham City Council.

Trent Leach has filed for Lucas Mayor.

Delinda Petty has filed for Luray Mayor and Nancy Chinski has filed for Luray City Council.

Melinda Olson and Virginia Vetter have filed for Midway Extension District Board.

Victoria Tomlinson and Kim Boxberger have filed for Hospital Board.

And Kristin Lyle, Adam Kocinski, Jill Gonzalez and Justin Schultze have filed for USD 399 Board of Education.

(Information courtesy Russell County Clerk's Office.)