Overview Financial Marquee March 2023
Russell/Victoria Softball vs. Colby at 4pm on KRSL 95.9 FM - LISTEN LIVE!

Local Dispatchers Recognized by Proclamation

Dispatchers Alese Hageman, Amy Dollison and Angel Roe with Mayor Jim Cross.
Dispatchers Alese Hageman, Amy Dollison and Angel Roe with Mayor Jim Cross.

Across the nation in times of intense personal crisis and communitywide disasters, the first access point for those seeking all classes of emergency services is 911.

The emergency communications centers that receive these calls have emerged as the first and single point of contact for persons seeking immediate relief during an emergency.

Russell Mayor Jim Cross signed a proclamation Tuesday designating April 10 through 16 as National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in the City of Russell.

This week, sponsored by the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials International and celebrated annually, honors the thousands of men and women who dispatch emergency professionals and equipment and render life saving assistance to the citizens of the United States.

Since 1996, Russell County has contracted with the City of Russell to manage and operate countywide emergency communications and 911 services.

Known as Russell County Communications, the 911 Dispatch Center is housed at the City Building and operates 24/7 every day of the year, provides NG-911 service to all of Russell County and dispatches for the Russell County Sheriff, Russell County EMS, Russell Police, City of Russell Fire, Gorham Fire, Russell Grant Fire, Dorrance Fire, Rural Fire District 5, Paradise Fire, Waldo Fire, Natoma Fire, Lucas Fire, Luray Fire and provides support to local State Troopers and Department of Wildlife and Parks Officers.

(Information courtesy City of Russell.)