December 6, 2021 Unofficial Minutes Russell County Commission Meeting

At 9:00 am Steve Reinhardt made the to motion open the meeting. Duke Strobel seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. Others present for the meeting were: Clerk Mary Nuss, Administrator John Fletcher, and County Attorney Dan Krug.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to approve the November 15, 2021, meeting. Duke Strobel seconded, and Daron Woelk approved.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to move the next regular Commission meeting from December 20, 2021, to December 27, 2021, beginning at 9:00 am in Commission Chambers, Courthouse. Daron Woelk seconded, and Duke Strobel approved.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to approve CMB applications for Iron Bird DBA LaSada Lodge, Russell, Ks, and Petroleum Wholesale DBA SunMart at Bunker Hill, Ks. Daron Woelk seconded, and Duke Strobel approved.

Discussion was held regarding the cost required cost publications in the County.

Alan Kuntzsch, Public Works Director, updated the Commission on road projects in the County. Duke Strobel made the motion to terminate the road maintenance contract with Winterset Twp. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. The County Shop will hold its annual safety training on the afternoon of December 17. On December 1, 2021, KDHE inspected the Landfill, and we had no violations.

At 9:30 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 10-minute executive session for employee evaluations pursuant to non-elected personnel with Alan Kuntzsch and John Fletcher in attendance. Steve Reinhardt seconded; and Daron Woelk approved. At 9:40 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to pass Resolution 2021-22 and a Memorandum of Understanding for the Opioid Litigation. Daron Woelk seconded, and Duke Strobel approved.

John Fletcher was appointed as a voting delegate to Kansas Association of Counties to add the Human Resources Association to KAC and have Daron Woelk and Duke Strobel as alternate voting delegates.

At 10:00 am Steve Reinhardt made the motion to move the meeting to the Courtroom for the presentation of the County Employee Service Awards and Economic Development Business Appreciation Awards. Duke Strobel seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. County Employee Service Awards were presented to the following employees:

Dylan Krause, Ray Olson, and Andrea Ruggels had 5 years of Service. Alan Kuntzsch 10 years of Service. Scott Axtell, Leslie Betts, and Keith Haberer for 15 years of Service. Brandon Dinkel for 20 years. Daniel Krug and Fred Whitman for 25 years.

Mike Parsons, Economic Development Director, presented awards to the following businesses. Business Appreciation Award to Leach and Naegele, Trent and Lyn Leach owners. Business Innovation Award to Agrilead, Inc. Jeff Ochampaugh Owner. Others present for this award were: Andrew Ochampaugh, Tony Bay, Gage Nichols, Andy Peterson, and Daniel Staab. Under 30 Entrepreneur/Businessperson Award– Nathan Kingsbury – Kingsbury Concrete Construction

The Welcome Back Award to Alice and Jeff Hill.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to move the meeting back to the Commission room. Daron Woelk seconded; Duke Strobel approved.

Duke Strobel made the motion to approve the purchase of a replacement vehicle for the Sheriff's department. This vehicle is a 2021 Dodge Durango for the approximate amount of \$42,000. \$24,000 from the KCAMP Insurance for a wrecked vehicle. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved.

Trisha Strobel, Treasurer, said the County has collected a little over a million dollars from tax statements. Trish could not present the Single Audit as she has not received it yet.

At 11:43 am Duke Strobel made the motion to recess the meeting for lunch and to return at 1:00 pm. Steve Reinhardt seconded; and Daron Woelk approved.

Keith Koelling, Chief of Fire District 3, updated the Commission on the purchase of the new fire truck. He presented a bill for the chassis only, in the amount of \$49,900 from Hays Fire and Rescue Sales & Service. Keith was also given permission to purchase new radios to be installed in the new fire

Truck.

The Commission met with Bob Kent, the Deputy Director of Property Valuation Division, by conference call. Bob Kent is required by statute to meet with the Commission when the County does not meet/pass the Compliance Review set by the PVD. The County is below the State PVD compliance measures.

Chris Venters, EMS Director, was given permission to send out bids for the 2 new ambulances. The bids will be opened January 17, 2022, at 11:00 am during the Commission regular meeting.

At 2:00 pm Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 10-minute executive session for attorney/client privilege with John Fletcher, Dan Krug, and Fred Whitman in attendance. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved. At 2:10 pm the meeting resumed with no action taken.

Checks were approved and signed to be deducted from the following funds:

100	GENERAL	\$ 86,092.88	290	GORHAM FIRE	\$ 529.95
110	ROAD & BRIDGE	\$ 51,425.91	300	LUCAS FIRE	\$ 152.59
130	NOXIOUS WEED	\$ 29.25	310	WAL-PAR-NAT	\$ 861.40
140	4H	\$ 667.46	320	DORRANCE FIRE	\$ 36.99
150	CVB	\$ 1,829.00	328	RS CO FIRE #5	\$ 1,309.63
155	ED	\$ 478.01	340	SPECIAL R&B	\$ 485.66
180	ELECTION	\$ 428.22	360	SOLID WASTE	\$ 11,393.82
190	AMBULANCE	\$ 1,627.02	380	EM TELEPHONE	\$ 271.56
260	HEALTH	\$ 1,401.78	390	SPEC ALCOHOL	\$ 8,800.00

At 2:12 pm Duke Strobel made the motion to adjourn. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. The Commission has moved their regular scheduled meeting from December 20, 2021, to December 27, 2021, beginning at 9:00 am in Commission Chambers, Courthouse.