October 3, 2022 Unofficial Minutes Russell County Commission Meeting

At 9:00 am Steve Reinhardt made the motion to open the meeting. Duke Strobel seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. Others present for the meeting were: County Attorney Dan Krug, Administrator John Fletcher, Clerk Mary Nuss and Keith Haberer.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to approve minutes of the September 19, 2022 meeting. Duke Strobel seconded, and Daron Woelk approved.

Duke Strobel gave an update on the Lesser Prairie Chicken habitat from the Natural Resource Coalition meeting he attended last week.

Duke Strobel made the motion to appoint Ashley Fowler and Chris Venters as Special District Deputy Coroners for Russell County. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved.

Alan Kuntzsch, Public Works Director, updated the Commission on road projects in the County. Discussion was held with Alan Kuntzsch on possible changes to the landfill rates. Alan was given permission to bring in a used wheel trash compactor to use to see if it would work for our landfill better than the current track loader we use.

The chip and seal is complete on Van Houten and 15th Streets. The County share of the Federal Fund Exchange of \$72,369.37. The roads that were chip and sealed will be striped starting next week.

The County will be assisting Grant Township in putting in culverts between 187th and 188th St on I-70 Rd. The County will not be able to assist with the dirt work to help with the drainage problem at this time.

At 10:00 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 15-minute executive session for attorney-client privilege with Dan Krug and John Fletcher in attendance. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 10:15 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

At 10:17 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into 10-minute executive session for nonelected personnel with Keith Haberer. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 10:27 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

At 10:30 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 10-minute executive session for attorney-client privilege with Dan Krug and John Fletcher in attendance. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 10:40 am Duke Strobel made the motion to extend the session an additional 10-minutes. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 10:50 am the meeting resumed with no action was taken.

At 10:50 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 10-minute executive session for nonelected personnel with Keith Haberer. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved. At 11:00 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

Steve Reinhardt made the motion to approve the Emergency Management Preparedness Grant. Daron Woelk seconded, and Duke Strobel approved.

At 11:04 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 15-minute executive session for attorney-client privilege with Dan Krug, Sheriff Fred Whitman, Undersheriff Andy Van Wege and John Fletcher in attendance. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 11:19 am Duke Strobel made the motion to extend the session an additional 10-minutes. Steve Reinhardt seconded, and Daron Woelk approved. At 11:29 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

At 11:34 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 5-minute executive session for nonelected personnel with Trisha Strobel. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved. At 11:39 am the meeting resumed with no action taken.

The Delinquent Tax Sale will be held Tuesday, November 22, 2022, at 9:00 am at the Russell County 4-H Building. Registration will begin at 8.00 am.

Duke Strobel made the motion to start the process for the next delinquent tax sale and allow Trish Strobel to start the tax sale process. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved.

At 11:58 am Duke Strobel made the motion to enter into a 5-minute executive session for nonelected personnel. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved. At 12:03 pm the meeting resumed with no action taken.

Checks were approved and signed to be deducted from the following funds:

100	GENERAL	\$ 18,853.98	300	LUCAS FIRE	\$ 547.40
110	ROAD & BRIDGE	\$ 155,926.40	310	WAL-PAR-NAT	\$ 62.50
150	CVB	\$ 682.50	320	DORRANCE FIRE	\$ 1,476.30
180	ELECTION	\$ 11.68	330	APPRAISER	\$ 25.00
190	AMBULANCE	\$ 2,026.66	340	SPECIAL R&B	\$ 393.09
260	HEALTH	\$ 742.24	360	SOLID WASTE	\$ 27,295.59
290	GORHAM FIRE	\$ 3,875.43	380	EM TELEPHONE	\$ 1,012.42

At 12:08 pm Duke Strobel made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Daron Woelk seconded, and Steve Reinhardt approved. The next meeting for the Russell County Commissioners will be Monday, October 17, 2022, beginning at 9:00 am in Commission Chambers, Courthouse.